Home » News » Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah Emerges Speaker Of 9th Cross River Assembly
Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah Williams

Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah Emerges Speaker Of 9th Cross River Assembly

By Endurance Onun:

Members of the Cross River State House of Assembly (CRSHA) has elected Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah Williams as its Speaker for the 9th republic legislative business.

Hon. Eteng Jonah, member representing Yakurr II State Constituency was elected today, June 11th, 2019 at the plenary for the induction of both fresh and old members of the 9th Assembly.

In same line, the entire members returned Rt. Hon. Joseph Bassey, member representing Calabar South II as Deputy Speaker for the second time in a stretch.

Other elected principal officers for the 9th CRSHA are Rt. Hon. Peter Odey (Ogoja) as Leader of the House, Rt. Hon. Fredrick Osim (Ikom I) as Deputy Leader, Rt. Hon. Ephraim Okon (Calabar South I) as Chief Whip and Rt. Hon. Regina Anyogo (Yala I) as Deputy Whip.

Though unofficial, the position of the speaker for the 9th Assembly was said to be zoned to Cross River Central Senatorial District made up of Yakurr I&II, Ikom I&II, Boki I&II, Obubra and Etung State Constituencies.

Aside, Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah, other members of the Central Senatorial District speculated to be on the race for Speakership were Rt. Hon. Fredrick Osim of Ikom I Constituency and Rt. Hon. Hilary Bisong of Boki II Constituency.

The new speaker, Rt. Hon. Eteng, is said to have enjoyed a magnanimous backing from over 90% of the members, thanks to his not-unnoticeable efforts put in to the House since his birth as member in 2011.

Eteng, who is a third-timer and one of the most senior members had served the House at various capacities, his recent being his service as Chairman House Committee on Finance and Appropriation as well as Security Adviser to the out-gone Speaker, Rt. Hon. John Gaul.

At his reception, Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah promised to run an all-inclusive assembly poised to improved on the achievements of the preceding assembly as well as birth innovations that will leave the 9th assembly on the sands of time as the most elegant legislature of the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *